12 Volt Cab A/C

General Discussion about almost anything Teardrop or camping related

12 Volt Cab A/C

Postby jrice4760 » Wed Jun 12, 2019 1:05 pm

Does anyone have any experience using this type of 12 volt A/C system? I did try to search on this site before submitting this question, but nothing of this sort seems to have been discussed.

https://www.alibaba.com/product-detail/ ... 4567oFQRdr

It seems to be used for truck cabs, and perhaps RVs as well.

Full Disclosure: I'm a complete newb :) . I've never built a camper of any kind, much less a teardrop.

Jeff
jrice4760
Teardrop Inspector

Re: 12 Volt Cab A/C

Postby GuitarPhotog » Wed Jun 12, 2019 4:39 pm

Even at the minimum rated power (300W), it would run a typical teardrop battery (120Ah) down to zero in a little over 4 hours and at max rated power (3000W) it would kill the battery in 1/2 hour.

Diesel trucks have lots of battery capacity, and often idle the engine to keep the heat/AC running all night.

:beer:
<Chas>
GuitarPhotog
Silver Donating Member

Postby Socal Tom » Wed Jun 12, 2019 4:44 pm

Looking at the pictures it has an engine drive compressor, so it appears you need to have your engine running to use it.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Socal Tom
Donating Member

Postby Aguyfromohio » Wed Jun 12, 2019 7:09 pm

When we started our builds I too searched for a low power air conditioner that runs on a 12 volt battery.
It does not exist. We could run through the physics and engineering but instead we can just look at what sells in the marketplace.

If such a unit existed it would be standard equipment on every small boat and small camper - they would sell like hot cakes; every owner wants one. But no boat or RV offers one.