Hub face measurement

Anything to do with mechanical, construction etc

Hub face measurement

Postby jasonnilsson » Mon Mar 21, 2005 4:56 pm

my tear will be 60" at the spring center but the body will be about 63".
My question is, what length axle should I get from hub face to hub face?
Once again I am still new to all of this and still looking for all the info I can find.Thanks
Jason
jasonnilsson
Teardrop Builder

Postby SteveH » Mon Mar 21, 2005 5:25 pm

Jason,

You need to find out what the back spacing is on the wheels you are going to use, multiply that by 2, add the width of the trailer, and add twice the clearance you want between the wheels and the trailer.
SteveH
Calling an illegal alien an "undocumented immigrant"is like calling a drug dealer an "unlicensed pharmacist ".
SteveH
2000 Club
2000 Club

Postby jasonnilsson » Mon Mar 21, 2005 5:49 pm

Thanks for the info! Thats the answer I was looking for!
Jason
jasonnilsson
Teardrop Builder

Postby Syekick » Tue Mar 22, 2005 8:40 pm

The formula is clear and all the data is available except the "amount of clearance you want."

How does a novice like me have a clue as a good figure for the clearance. Is 2" good or should it be 5"? Lets face it, the amount I want is far enough away from the side of the trailer so that it never touches but close enough so it doesn't look "funny." :cry:
<b>Fudd's First Law of Opposition: </b>
If you push something hard enough, it will fall over.
Syekick
Teardrop Builder

Postby Nitetimes » Tue Mar 22, 2005 9:22 pm

Syekick wrote:The formula is clear and all the data is available except the "amount of clearance you want."

How does a novice like me have a clue as a good figure for the clearance. Is 2" good or should it be 5"? Lets face it, the amount I want is far enough away from the side of the trailer so that it never touches but close enough so it doesn't look "funny." :cry: