Heat?

Anything to do with mechanical, construction etc

Heat?

Postby february1966 » Wed Jul 27, 2005 4:37 pm

Hey guys, I'm from Ohio and I do like to do some cold weather camping. Since this is my first build, I don't have the experience with heating one of these.

Since I mostly camp without 120v, I need to heat some other way. just enough to keep me and the missus warm and to keep the water from freezing.

any suggestions? Particularly on the water issue. (to anticipate your questions (a 15gal tank mounted in the galley cabinets with a little space to insulate the tank)
5 kids & dog!! Teardrop or padded cell?
february1966
Teardrop Builder

Postby Chris C » Wed Jul 27, 2005 4:48 pm

Try a padded cell. :rofl2: :wacky Think it would be safer and quieter. :lol: Now, for heat..................the only thing I can think of away from 120V is a flame..... :shock: ........no, I don't mean a campfire inside your trailer :lol: , but something more like you'll find at this site: http://store.yahoo.com/fulfillmentadven ... src=google
Chris :D

The tension between what is good enough and what is beyond that creates the space for character to become our work.

Teardrop Trailer Build Pictures: http://tinyurl.com/px5cd
Chris C

Postby Cutterpup » Wed Jul 27, 2005 5:35 pm

february1966 I have used "a hot water bottle" to keep my tent mates warm in weather down to 0. I have also used the hot water bottle when my son took my winter bag and left me my summer bag for a winter campout with the scouts. My bag was rated for 50 deg and it went down to 5 deg over night. I used two quart bottle filled with 190 deg water and sleeped soundly. As for heating the trailer in the winter ANY OPEN FLAME CAN BURN DOWN THE ENTIRE TRAILER. Saying that I have used a coleman lantern to heat a tent for a short time before going to bed for the night. However you will find that the teardrop will stay warm with just body heat or at least 3 very large dogs. ;)

Dan
Cutterpup
Teardrop Master

heat