How do I cut a smooth rabbet for the headliner?

Anything to do with mechanical, construction etc

How do I cut a smooth rabbet for the headliner?

Postby tearlurker » Thu Jan 24, 2019 7:37 pm

I’m confused about this, mostly because I have limited router experience. Can someone explain or better show me with images how to cut the 1 and 5/8” rabbet for the headliner? Do you use an edge guide? I want to do it on a plywood skeleton rather than stick built. For what it’s worth, I have read Steve Fredericks manual but I really could use some guidance.

Thanks!
tearlurker
Teardrop Inspector

Re: How do I cut a smooth rabbet for the headliner?

Postby tony.latham » Thu Jan 24, 2019 7:57 pm

tearlurker wrote:I’m confused about this, mostly because I have limited router experience. Can someone explain or better show me with images how to cut the 1 and 5/8” rabbet for the headliner? Do you use an edge guide? I want to do it on a plywood skeleton rather than stick built. For what it’s worth, I have read Steve Fredericks manual but I really could use some guidance.

Thanks!

It's really not a rabbet. You cut them off and set them aside for blocking down the road.

I screw both skeletons together and cut them off with a jigsaw and a good blade such as a Starrett BU36T or Bosch T144DP to get a 90º cut. Go slow.

It should like something like the top of this:

Plain as day? :thinking:

Tony
tony.latham
Gold Donating Member

Postby tearlurker » Thu Jan 24, 2019 8:22 pm

Thanks Tony, I guess I should have explained it better. I am going by the plans for the Wyoming Woody created by Ryan. This is a detail from his plan. It’s the 1/4” headliner routed out of the plywood.
tearlurker
Teardrop Inspector

Postby troubleScottie » Thu Jan 24, 2019 8:55 pm

Depending on your router face.