Any Tips on Building a Powder Coating Oven?

Things that don't fit anywhere else...

Any Tips on Building a Powder Coating Oven?

Postby D. Tillery » Fri Dec 10, 2004 11:35 am

It seems that every time I think I will have the time to build that teardrop I've been dreaming about something comes up.

I've been outsourcing my powder coating for 10+ years and it is time to start doing my own. I get something powder coated about every two weeks so I know alot about it. The only stumbling block for me is that I do not have an oven.

I know I can make the enclosure OK but I am having trouble with the guts. It is basically a 300K-500K BTU 350F - 500F drgrees Convection oven approx 4'x5'x8'.

Anyone out there have any advice on this? Free powder coating to anyone who can help me out.

Thanks, D. Tillery
D. Tillery
D. Tillery
Teardrop Master

Postby SteveH » Fri Dec 10, 2004 11:49 am

D.

Hint: Use heat resistant materials! :D

Sorry, I just couldn't resist.
SteveH
Calling an illegal alien an "undocumented immigrant"is like calling a drug dealer an "unlicensed pharmacist ".
SteveH
2000 Club
2000 Club

Postby Guest » Fri Dec 10, 2004 11:59 am

D,
Free powder coating, eh?
Question: Will you need a separate oven, or will the spray booth double as the oven?

Postby D. Tillery » Fri Dec 10, 2004 12:02 pm

Yeah. I have never seen a powdercoating oven made from wood and plastic.

This should not be that hard if I can find info on the guts and controls.

Thanks, D. Tillery
D. Tillery
D. Tillery
Teardrop Master

Postby SteveH » Fri Dec 10, 2004 12:15 pm

No joking this time, try talking to some of the folks that do pottery fireing. They use ovens that operate at those temperatures, so the controls might work.
SteveH
Calling an illegal alien an "undocumented immigrant"is like calling a drug dealer an "unlicensed pharmacist ".
SteveH
2000 Club
2000 Club

Postby Guest » Fri Dec 10, 2004 12:29 pm

D,
If you need the oven to be separate from the spray booth, just build a rolling cart.