Teardrop Fiction

Things that don't fit anywhere else...

Teardrop Fiction

Postby Tumbleweed_Tex » Wed Jun 23, 2010 2:52 pm

DOG

Howdy neighbors, I’m Tex…and I live in a little teardrop trailer called the Club Foote, parked at the very way-back end of the Lucky Dozen Campground. I’m a semi-permanent resident, and Renee, the sweet lady what owns the place, lets me work off the rent at my own pace.

Other than Dog, I live alone. Dog is my...well...maybe I should say Dog is "a"...dog. He just showed up one day...110 pounds of black lab.

I knew from the beginning Dog was enough dog that someone would eventually come looking for him, so he and I spent two days just kinda staring at each other suspiciously. I didn't speak and he didn't wag, and for the most part, we just sorta put up with each other.

On the third day, when I caught him drinking out of a muddy rain puddle, we had our first conversation. I explained that if he was gonna hang out around the trailer, he couldn't be drinking out of a mud hole...leastways not in broad daylight. So, I set him a big bowl up under the trailer tongue…out of the way, where it wouldn’t get turned over. Then I commenced to teach him what few manners a cowboy could recall from his younger days.

That evening, I gave him a big chunk of ham, complete with bone, and he promptly thanked me by bruising my leg with his tail. It's like a hickory axe handle, weighs seventeen and a half pounds, and he wags it like he means it.

At the end of the third week, I accidentally let him inside the Foote, and he promptly laid claim to the entire right-hand side of the cabin. There goes the neighborhood. I mean…there's not much an old cowboy can do when he's tryin’ to rest sore cowboy parts on the queen mattress, and a hundred plus pounds of black mischief decides he just can't stand being left alone outside.