Ultralight aircraft flying

Things that don't fit anywhere else...

Ultralight aircraft flying

Postby Roly Nelson » Tue Jan 06, 2015 6:10 pm

I just spent 5 hours with a local ultralight aircraft flying club, watching them compete, dropping sand-filled socks and trying to knock over some bowling pins at the end of the runway. These guys were having a ball and were as friendly as teardropers. This "off topic" section doesn't get much action, and I was wondering if any of you camping folks fly ultralights or are somehow involved with them. I am a licensed private pilot and this kind of low and slow flying looks like a lot of fun and one wouldn't have to sell the farm to afford it. Flying has been in my blood for over 50 years and I miss it. Just askin'.
:) Roly
See the little 1/2 Nelson Woody constructions pics at: http://gages-56.com/roly.html
Roly Nelson
L'il Ol' Woody Builder

Re: Ultralight aircraft flying

Postby 48Rob » Tue Jan 06, 2015 6:20 pm

Roly,

No...but been dreaming about it for years...

Rob
Waiting for "someday" will leave you on your deathbed wondering why you didn't just rearrange your priorities and enjoy the time you had, instead of waiting for a "better" time to come along...
48Rob
Super Lifetime Member

Postby Redneck Teepee » Tue Jan 06, 2015 6:47 pm

Don't own one, but have been around people that do, I have observed and asked questions over the years. They are way safer than they use to be now with the ballistic parachutes on them and 30 plus years of constant air worthy improvement's. I have enough hobbies as it is, plus the wife would call the rubber truck to come get me if I dared bring one home. They say they are like sitting in a flying lawn chair, if you can visualize that........... I can and it sounds like fun! :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:
I fear the day that technology will surpass our human interaction, the world will have a generation of idiot's.
Redneck Teepee
Silver Donating Member

Postby Bigwoods » Tue Jan 06, 2015 7:07 pm