Charging From The Tow Vehicle - Good Idea or Not?

Anything electric, AC or DC

Charging From The Tow Vehicle - Good Idea or Not?

Postby mrchuc » Tue Sep 04, 2007 10:08 am

I just took delivery of a new Little Guy 4-Wide Platform TD. I ordered it with a deep cycle battery and wiring for 12 volts in the TD. It is also set up to charge from the tow vehicle while driving.

I am new to all this and so I read everything I could in sdtripper2's index related to batteries. That was a BIG help. To keep the battery in good condition, I ordered the Battery Tender Plus.

One thing confused me though. :? In one of the posts, it was stated that having the battery hooked up to the tow vehicle is not a good idea. As I remember it, the writer said that if I start out on a trip with a fully charged battery (as mine will be having been tended by the Battery Tender Plus), that I will actually lose charge as I drive and that I will arrive with only 70% charge. That would not be good at all.:thumbdown:

1. Does that seem correct?
2. If so, should I disconnect the charging wire (or put a switch on it to keep it off when not needed)?
3. Also, if so, is there something I can do to use the tow vehicle's power to keep the TD's battery topped off correctly.

Finally, can someone enlighten me on why this is or is not true?

Thanks, everyone, for making this forum such a great resource. :thumbsup:
Rolling lightly upon the Earth,

Chuc
mrchuc
Teardrop Master

Postby Dale M. » Tue Sep 04, 2007 10:56 am

Regardless if somebody wrote a fully charged battery will only have a 70% charge after some "drive time", what are your priorities.... To have a charged batter or a dead battery.... It really is not significant if you camp in a location with shore power and can charge battery upon arrival (if discharge while driving is true) If you primitive camp (no shore power) the vehicle charging is probably a must...