Wiring a Cargo/Camper/Mobile Office trailer from Scratch

Anything electric, AC or DC

Wiring a Cargo/Camper/Mobile Office trailer from Scratch

Postby Pic Shooter » Wed Mar 23, 2011 9:51 am

Been digging for hours and can't seen to really find the information / Best options I need so hopefully someone can provide input.

I currently have a 7'X14" +2Vnose cargo trailer.

I spend about 90 to 100 nights a year at racetracks (I'm a Professional Photographer)

What I'm looking to do is design the Electrical system in the most efficient way possible using things I already have.

What my plan is, Is to have
-2 120AH deep cycle batteries

-a Charger to recharge them (I have a Schumacher 12/6/2amp charger, Would this work instead of using a RV converter/Charger ?)
-Input for a Champion 2000W Inverter generator.

I also have a old Generac 4500W generator which I only want to use if absolutely necessary because it's very noisy and uses a lot more fuel.

The Generator will be run to recharge the batteries and power a desktop computer with 2 23" lcd monitors
(Even though it's supposed to be a true sine wave generator, Would it be a good idea run the computers off a Surge Protected UPS ? )

-I have a 400W and 1000W inverter. The only thing a inverter will be used for is so I can recharge camera batteries without running the generator.

-I also have 60 Watts of Solar Panels to help keep the batteries charged.

-I have a small Danby 5000BTU portable air conditioner that I don't know if I will use or not. Using the AC and the Computers at the same time would likely require using the large generator.

The items that will run on 12V will be
- A Dometic 12 Fridge. It's rated at 3.7 DC amps. Checking with a Ammeter it draws 3.4 Amps. But I'm not sure how to determine the power capacity required for it since it appears to run anywhere from 20% to 60% of the time.

-2 LCD Ceiling Lamps

-2 Computer fans for ventilation