Questions about solar and batteries?

Anything electric, AC or DC

Questions about solar and batteries?

Postby 62Grains » Mon Jun 02, 2014 7:07 pm

Hello!

Im obviously new to the forum and have recently started my project so I have been just kind of searching the net for information. Seems like I might of hit the jackpot here. Lots of ideas, pics, and info for sure.

I recenly purchases an enclosed Pace 17 ft. trailer and would like to set it up to do some camping as well. My family and I dry camp quite a bit and almost always camp in very primitive areas.

I am trying to upgrade the trailer with some minor additions and changes to make it a little more suiting to us. We wont necessarily camp within the trailer, but I would like that as an option as well when the Mrs. and I head out without the kiddos.

My main questions at this time are in regards to the battery and solar system I would like to put in. Im pretty new to this type of system and setup, so I might have some questions that are pretty basic. So apologies to the technical gurus in advance.

The trailer already has a setup for a battery and a few lights inside. I replaced all of the bulbs with LED's already since they have regular bulbs in place. I also recently picked up a few Optima Blue Top batteries. The models is the D34M. I got them for a pretty good price, so I kind of felt I couldnt pass up on it at the time. After doing a little more research, I see the batteries are only rated at 55ah. Compared to many other batteries I was actually disappointed to see that. I was basing my assumptions that they would be in the higher range due to the reputation of the company. Is there something I am missing here? Or are they actually on the pretty low end in this catergory?