Teardrop newbie looking for electrical advise.

Anything electric, AC or DC

Teardrop newbie looking for electrical advise.

Postby Wishno » Tue Apr 14, 2015 8:57 pm

The trailer I bought came with absolutely no wiring and because i have no experience with electrical systems building it from scratch is looking like a very daunting task for me. I has hoping you guys could at least give me a basic outline for what components I need to buy to accomplish what im looking for.

Here is what Im looking to accomplish:

12V interior and exterior lights

two 110V outlets (not for anything crazy just for a camera/laptop charger or maybe a small heater)

An onboard battery that can run my thermoelectric cooler and lights for a day or two if I don't have shore power

Exterior plug for shore power to keep the battery charged and run the 110V stuff when im parked

Im installing a 5k btu air conditioning on my teardrop and I would like to be able to run the power through the rest of the electrical system so I don't need to plug it in separately when Im parked. Im not sure if this is even possible due to the current it draws but it would be nice to have everything plugged in though one cable.

I would also like to be able to charge the onboard battery with my car while im towing.

Any help would be greatly appreciated and thanks in advance to my fellow teardroppers! :beer:

Some pics because i know everyone loves pics.
Wishno
Teardrop Builder

Re: Teardrop newbie looking for electrical advise.

Postby bobhenry » Wed Apr 15, 2015 6:00 am

From 8 years of campground experience I would strongly suggest that you do leave the air conditioner on a separate line. I have found that if I use a heating cooking appliance while the AC unit is running there is a good chance I will pop a breaker. I plug the AC into the 30 / 50 amp outlet with an adapter, and then plug the trailer into the 20 amp one.

I used Joanne's pictorial schematic to help me understand the DC side of my build.....