Wiring up the Harbor Freight Trailer

Anything electric, AC or DC

Postby Franco Novo » Sun Jul 12, 2015 9:19 pm

While pretty basic, this may be helpful to some.
I'm a newbie at trailer building, but i've done a lot of tinkering with wiring.

First, well, this isn't about wiring, but I did paint the parts of the frame that will show black.
Not a big fan of HF red.
Sand lightly, wipe clean...I use ACE spray enamel rattle can style.
I've restored a bunch of vintage bicycles, and I've found it goes on better, lasts longer than Rustoleum...
Franco Novo

Franco Novo
Teardrop Advisor

Testing the Ground

Postby Franco Novo » Sun Jul 12, 2015 9:25 pm

I happened to have a spare car battery laying around, it was getting weak, but great for testing
At this point, I just want to test the grounding
So, I hook up the car 4 plug connector to the battery...just the brown and white (ground wire)
Now, I can test the ground before going crazy on the wiring

Franco Novo
Teardrop Advisor

Attach the ground wire

Postby Franco Novo » Sun Jul 12, 2015 9:35 pm

First, pick a place on the frame...and use a wire attachment on your drill, or just some coarse sandpaper and get down to shiny metal.
You can use a little crimp connector with a plastic sleeve and a round eyelet of you wish
I don't trust them...or maybe I just suck at crimping, but they always eventually work loose
So, I just drilled a hole, found a little bolt with a couple of those pointy star washers, wrapped the ground around under the washer and tightened it up

Franco Novo
Teardrop Advisor

Re: Wiring up the Harbor Freight Trailer

Postby Franco Novo » Sun Jul 12, 2015 9:45 pm

The wiring 'kit' includes a few crimp on splicers, and some metal clips that mount on the frame

The metal clips mount like this.....but be aware that they still seem a little flaky , they have little 'teeth' to grip to the frame...