best 12v storage battery or batteries for teardrop

Anything electric, AC or DC

best 12v storage battery or batteries for teardrop

Postby gene so » Thu Dec 17, 2015 6:37 pm

Hello
I am just getting into the electrical design and layout portion of my trailer. I will be consulting with an electrician and using an Intellipower 4000 unit in dealing with both the 12v and 120v systems. My trailer will be pulled by my 4x4 and will be used in quite remote areas, along with the normal camping outlets with electricity.
I will have a galley, with a propane refrigerator, cook top etc. I will be using a solar panel here in NM for recharging the battery. I want to make sure I have enough juice for the galley.
I have a large storage box already attached to the tube frame and have plenty of storage capacity for batteries etc.
Since I have the room, what type of batteries,and what size would you recommend? Which are the best for the money?
I want to do this whole challenge of building a cuustom trailer just once in my life, so would appreciate your input as to reliable batteries that will be with me a long time..

Thanks,

Gene So
gene so
Teardrop Advisor

Re: best 12v storage battery or batteries for teardrop

Postby Shadow Catcher » Fri Dec 18, 2015 1:38 pm

This kind of comes back to the, speed costs money, how fast do you want to go. There are way too many unanswered questions here.
Let me go through my process. I did not want to have to water a deep cycle battery and that meant an AGM and I would be running a Waeco refrigerator, TV, assorted chargers, LED lights... We have a 185W high voltage panel and most of the camp sites around here (upper mid-west) have trees so amp hours need to be substantial. I chose a 150 AH Lifeline AGM and 8 days on the north shore of Lake Superior brought us down to 64% state of charge (we lost a bit each day).
If you can keep up with watering etc. golf cart batteries make sense.

The camp site from the beach
Shadow Catcher
Donating Member