Early draft of PD4045 step by step

Anything electric, AC or DC

Early draft of PD4045 step by step

Postby springdew » Sat Apr 23, 2016 12:21 am

Here's a starting draft of a guide to installing a PD4045, built from gleanings from the forums. There are gaps - I am writing this so that I have instructions to use, so I haven't done these steps yet. I also haven't finished going through all the entries yet, but I think this thing is past the 80% complete point, so possibly worth looking at, maybe.

Please do point out any corrections, refinements, etc. I do have a couple of notes in places where I'm confused. Thanks!

PD4045 Step by Step

Disclaimer: I am not an electrician, and the sources of this information may not be electricians either. Use at your own risk - I’m using at my own risk.

Why this guide: The installation manual provided by Progressive Dynamics may not have been intended for layperson use. Regular people have not found it particularly enlightening, and thus forums and blogs are full of Q-and-A style advice on this topic. I need something a bit more systematic and orderly than Q-and-A, so I’m compiling this guide for myself.

This guide does not include:
  • Solar power generation
  • Inversion from DC to AC
  • Charging a battery from a tow vehicle
  • Integrating a generator

This guide does include:
  • 120v AC circuits
  • 12v DC circuits
  • Charging a battery from AC

Supplies:
  • PD4045
  • Shore power inlet
  • Circuit breakers - single or tandem

Fig. 1 - Compatible types of breakers.

• Fuses
  • Devices, appliances, fixtures, etc.
  • Wires
    • Larger (lower gauge) wires to battery and shore power, typically 8 or 10 AWG
    • Smaller (higher gauge) wires to fixtures, typically 12 or 14 gauge for AC, smaller for DC
  • Battery (optional)

Fig. 2 - The wiring diagram provided with the installation guide.

Fig. 3 - Zac’s much clearer diagram with an addendum.

Steps