different gauge wire?

Anything electric, AC or DC

different gauge wire?

Postby mariannf » Mon May 16, 2016 5:52 pm

Hi there,
Question: I am installing two loads: a fantastic vent fan and the wire gauge is 16, and an overhead light with a wire gauge of 20. I had though to wire from the fuse box and negative bus bar to the loads using 14 gauge on account of the distance (about 15 feet and amperage (each load no more than 4 amps). can I simply join the 14 gauge wire to the wires that are already installed in each piece?

many thanks for the help!
User avatar
mariannf
Teardrop Master
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2015 3:13 am

Re: different gauge wire?

Postby H.A. » Mon May 16, 2016 6:34 pm

Thps.
Last edited by H.A. on Wed Sep 07, 2016 8:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.
H.A.
The 300 Club
 
Posts: 429
Images: 0
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 8:16 pm

Re: different gauge wire?

Postby mariannf » Mon May 16, 2016 8:27 pm

thanks HA i have a question posted below.
Last edited by mariannf on Mon May 16, 2016 10:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
mariannf
Teardrop Master
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2015 3:13 am
Top

Re: different gauge wire?

Postby mariannf » Mon May 16, 2016 10:42 pm

H.A. wrote:The easy answer is yes, Just splice your two appliances to your 14awg supply conductors
If paranoid of a problem with that luminaire & its 20awg tap conductor, you might fuse that circuit to about 10amps.


Thanks H.A. i want to make sure i understand. I can join a 20awg wire to a 14awg wire? I'm not sure if that is what you meant since I am unfamiliar with the vocabulary of electrical work (i.e. what you meant by supply conductors). what is the best way of doing this in your opinion?
appreciate it!
User avatar
mariannf
Teardrop Master
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2015 3:13 am
Top

Re: different gauge wire?

Postby H.A. » Tue May 17, 2016 12:48 am

Inid.
Last edited by H.A. on Tue Jun 28, 2016 8:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
H.A.
The 300 Club
 
Posts: 429
Images: 0
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 8:16 pm
Top

Re: different gauge wire?

Postby noseoil » Tue May 17, 2016 7:47 am

Fuses are there to protect the wires, not the device, typically. Take a look at your wire size chart & decide how much of a "load" will be on the wire, then fuse the wire to accommodate the load it will carry. Typically, I under-size the fuse so the wire can't heat up & melt if there's a problem on the working end of things.

The wires used for a fan, etc. tend to look pretty small when you see them, so using a larger feed wire is a good idea for voltage drop. Ideally, I guess we could look for wires which get progressively smaller as they run to carry the load, but that's getting a bit anal, even for me!
Build log: viewtopic.php?f=50&t=60248
The time you spend planning is more important than the time you spend building.........

Image
User avatar
noseoil
1000 Club
1000 Club
 
Posts: 1278
Images: 66
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2014 8:46 am
Top

Re: different gauge wire?

Postby mariannf » Tue May 17, 2016 9:26 am

Perfect got it! Thanks HA and Noseoil.
User avatar
mariannf
Teardrop Master
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2015 3:13 am
Top


Return to Electrical Secrets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest