fuse bar vs inline fuses

Anything electric, AC or DC

fuse bar vs inline fuses

Postby mariannf » Tue May 17, 2016 11:21 am

Hi all,
Another question for anyone who can help.
I am planning on only having three loads in my build: fantastic vent fan, dome light, and 12 volt socket charger. Do I need a fuse bar or can I just use three inline fuses (one for each)?
thanks in advance!
User avatar
mariannf
Teardrop Master
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2015 3:13 am

Re: fuse bar vs inline fuses

Postby 3GKnight » Tue May 17, 2016 12:24 pm

It doesn't really matter. Fuse blocks are handy as they're usually easier to access, easier to replace fuses, and a bit 'cleaner' for assembly. In-line fuses are floppy and difficult to attach in a clean way. There's not much of a price difference either. A 4-gang fuse block is ~$6 some places.

I'd recommend a fuse block. Much cleaner to install. Good luck!
User avatar
3GKnight
Donating Member
 
Posts: 172
Images: 0
Joined: Wed May 28, 2014 3:43 pm
Location: Cheyenne, WY

Re: fuse bar vs inline fuses

Postby Shadow Catcher » Tue May 17, 2016 12:26 pm

My bet is that in the future you will want more circuits than you think you do. I found that out the easy way, I planned for it.
User avatar
Shadow Catcher
Donating Member
 
Posts: 5612
Images: 192
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 8:26 pm
Location: Metamora, OH
Top

Re: fuse bar vs inline fuses

Postby H.A. » Tue May 17, 2016 2:53 pm

Juus.
Last edited by H.A. on Tue Jun 28, 2016 8:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
H.A.
The 300 Club
 
Posts: 429
Images: 0
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 8:16 pm
Top

Re: fuse bar vs inline fuses

Postby mariannf » Tue May 17, 2016 4:25 pm

thank you all...fuse bar it is!
User avatar
mariannf
Teardrop Master
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2015 3:13 am
Top


Return to Electrical Secrets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: spinnernut and 1 guest