Backing a Trailer 101 -- do you have hints for me?

Anything to do with camping, fundamentals, secrets, etc...

Backing a Trailer 101 -- do you have hints for me?

Postby catinmoon » Sat Sep 15, 2012 2:17 pm

HI Folks,
Newbie here. I am the new proud owner of a hand built teardrop (not built by me). My boyfriend and I towed it from it's birthplace in Nebraska back here to So. Cal. I am fine to drive and turn but... it has been MANY YEARS since I towed a trailer (U haul type 5x8) and even though I had the hang then of backing the trailer, I don't seem to remember how to ride the bike, so to speak.

Do you have hints, rules of thumb, suggestions for me about backing a trailer of this size? I would love to hear your suggestions. I live in a fairly rural place so I can find wide open spaces to practice, but I'm the type who wants to have some fallback concepts so I can reason out what I am doing rather than just go and start driving backwards and hope I don't do the dreaded "jack knife".

I am pulling the trailer with a 2004 Toyota Tacoma (the smaller version than the current model) with an extra cab, so the truck while not enormous is a bit long compared to the trailer.

Thanks for any ideas.
Stephanie (catinmoon)
catinmoon
Teardrop Master

Re: Backing a Trailer 101 -- do you have hints for me?

Postby asianflava » Sat Sep 15, 2012 2:23 pm

Practice, practice, practice. I have to re-learn every time I dig the trailer out of the garage.
asianflava
8000 Club
8000 Club

Postby catinmoon » Sat Sep 15, 2012 2:43 pm

Here is a picture of the rig taken in Colorado on our way back from picking up the trailer.

Stephanie
catinmoon
Teardrop Master

Postby jeff0520 » Sat Sep 15, 2012 2:47 pm

Hi Stephanie,
I think I can help quite a bit. I drive this at work,
I'm also a certified driver trainer. I have taught a whole bunch of people to back all sizes of trailers. Here's the basic, and most desireable way to back into a space.