Off Road Axle

Ask questions about Harbor Freight trailers, or questions about building your own...

Off Road Axle

Postby Broncoboy » Thu Jul 27, 2006 12:33 am

First off I am completely new to this

I have a 68 Bronco, and I want to build a trailer for it. I have the plan i want, I'm kinda copyin' the genious with the cabin car he built :applause: . I'm gonna start to weld up the frame. I was wonderin if a torsion bar axle is heavy duty enough to withstand off-road abuse. Or if it has enough flex to folly my bronco.

I'm not a big fan up trailer sites so most of my travelin will be done off-road. any suggestions for maken a suspension that'll last?
GOT MUD???
Broncoboy
Teardrop Inspector

Postby madjack » Thu Jul 27, 2006 12:54 am

BB, welcome to the board...while I am a major fan of torsion axles for most uses, a really serious off-road tear should have a spring suspension since it gives more travel/articulation
...if you want a serious off-road unit, start with a 3500# axle with 2000# springs onit
...the reason
...the 3500 has a thicker axle tube and heavier running gear to start with
...used with lighter spings to give a better on road ride and possibly add shocks if you do a bunch of washboard or higher speed forestry or desert roads
...spring suspension will generally give you more frame to ground clearance
...it will also be easier to fix/find parts for if you bust it
...if you want a torsion axle, do the same
...get a 3500# axle and have them de-rate it to 2000#s and have it built with a pretty good down start angle
...what ever you do, take lotssa pictures 'cause you will want proof you built it and we wanna see 'em
...pictures are what we charge for more advice that you can use
...we luv da pics 'round here :D ;)
madjack 8)
...I have come to believe that, conflict resolution, through violence, is never acceptable.....................mj
madjack
Site Admin

Postby PaulC » Thu Jul 27, 2006 4:37 am