Chassis/axle Poll

Ask questions about Harbor Freight trailers, or questions about building your own...

what frame/axle set up did you use

custom frame/torsion axle
32%
custom frame/spring axle
23%
Harbor Freight
23%
Red Trailers
4%
Tractor Supply Co
8%
modified bolt together
2%
wood
4%
magic dust
4%
boat trailer
2%

Total votes : 53

Chassis/axle Poll

Postby cuyeda » Sun Sep 24, 2006 1:57 am

Newbie here, and planning to get myself to the next local teardrop meet in So. Cal to check out the tears out there! Anxious to put a plan together, so while waiting for the next meet, I have a question(s).

Poll:

What percentage of teardrop builders use the Harbor freight, or Red trailer chassis, VS. doing a complete build from scratch using 2x2 channel iron?

Are the torsion axles preferred?

I presume when selecting a torsion axle, a custom chassis is built.

I have a new mig welder I bought for other unrelated projects. It doesn't mean I know how to weld. :twisted:

Cliff
P.S. If I can work all of the logistics out, I am considering many features: water tank, shore power, inverter, solar etc...
Last edited by cuyeda on Sun Sep 24, 2006 3:29 am, edited 1 time in total.
Why just dance, when you can Salsa!
Cliff & Vanessa
cuyeda
Platinum Donating Member

Postby madjack » Sun Sep 24, 2006 2:30 am

cuyeda...if you truly want a poll, click the "edit" button on your post and look at the bottom of the page...you will see the facility to make your question into a true poll...be sure to add options for custom/torsion, custom/spring, HF, Red, TSC, modified bolt together, other.......
madjack 8)
...I have come to believe that, conflict resolution, through violence, is never acceptable.....................mj
madjack
Site Admin

Re: Chassis/axle Poll

Postby Gage » Sun Sep 24, 2006 3:28 am

cuyeda wrote:Poll:
What percentage of teardrop builders use the Harbor freight, or Red trailer chassis, VS. doing a complete build from scratch using 2x2 iron?

Are the torsion axles preferred?