Old angle iron trailer to start?

Ask questions about Harbor Freight trailers, or questions about building your own...

Old angle iron trailer to start?

Postby mydogsbear » Thu Apr 03, 2008 5:54 pm

Hi
I got a question about a trailer I got to start building my TD on. First I have to derust the frame and wheels. It's all 2" angle iron and has 12" side rails and nice fenders ....5x10 in size. Should I leave the siderails on and build on top or around them for my sides and front?
David

trailer is this design without the ramp
""If you can imagine it, you can accomplish it. If you can dream it, you can become it.""
David
mydogsbear
Teardrop Inspector

Postby Eddielbs » Thu Apr 03, 2008 6:12 pm

I'm no Expert by a long shot But in my opinion the side rails would just get in the way of the build... I would remove them but its your build so it's really up to you..
"Some Minds are like cement, A grey matter that is thoroughly mixed up and permanently set."
Eddielbs
Donating Member

Postby mydogsbear » Thu Apr 03, 2008 6:20 pm

Yeah It's hard to decide.....I got the old trailer for nothing its a heavy duty start I'm thinking hard about a weekender off-road. :twisted: For my Buffalo river runs and also my mini bass boat will ride on top.
""If you can imagine it, you can accomplish it. If you can dream it, you can become it.""
David
mydogsbear
Teardrop Inspector

Postby Eddielbs » Thu Apr 03, 2008 6:25 pm

I built my 5x10 frame that I'm using for my tear for a lot less than I payed for my small 5x8 utility trailer I got from lowes. And its a lot more sturdy than the utility trailer.
"Some Minds are like cement, A grey matter that is thoroughly mixed up and permanently set."
Eddielbs
Donating Member

Postby TomW » Thu Apr 03, 2008 8:03 pm

You have the same questions I had when I first started my build. I talked to one of the men in our fabrication shop who used to build the type of trailer you have and here is what he told me.