So you want to be a welder?

Ask questions about Harbor Freight trailers, or questions about building your own...

So you want to be a welder?

Postby G-force » Tue Jun 03, 2008 9:59 pm

So you want to be a welder? Follow along as I explain the finer points of welding in terms the average do-it yourselfer can understand. I have been a professional welder and fabricator for over 15 years. Certified in structural steel welding in light and heavy gauge, manual and semi automatic processes. Also over a decade of MIG and TIG welding for the aerospace, ultra high vaccume, and motorsports industrys. I've welded bridges, buildings, race cars, aircraft and spacecraft parts, vaccume chambers, trailers and loads of misc. "stuff" over the years. Follow along as I present alot of information, hopefully in a way a beginner can understand.

Learning to weld can be both fun and rewarding. Let’s dive into what the newbie hobbyist welder needs to know to produce strong, safe, preferably good looking welds. In its most basic form, welding is the act of melting two pieces of metal and a filler material, joining them together, all the while protecting the molten metal from contamination from the air. This can be accomplished through several processes available to the hobbyist.

SMAW: Shielded Metal Arc Welding, aka arc welding or stick welding. A hand held clamp, sometimes called a stinger, is used to hold flux coated welding rods. As you weld, the rod burns away melting the base metals and the rod together. The flux coating on the rod is melted and it flows over the molten weld pool, protecting it from the air. The flux hardens over the weld and must be chipped off and wire brushed to remove it.

Pros: Different size and type of rods allows welding many different materials, material thicknesses, and positions. Easy to get good penetration. Can be used outdoors in windy conditions. Machines are relatively cheap and simple, no moving parts. Can weld dirty or rusty material.