Newbie Class - Basic Trailer Materials

Ask questions about Harbor Freight trailers, or questions about building your own...

Newbie Class - Basic Trailer Materials

Postby jmorganix » Mon Mar 10, 2014 7:31 am

Another Newbie question...

I am a pretty good Mig Welder and fabricator. I am planning on building my own 5x10 trailer or at the very least doing a thorough estimate of the materials cost for said trailer to compare to the kits out there.

I believe that I want to do the outer perimeter with 2.5 Inch square tube, and the same material for 2 crossmembers forward (spaced for good under floor storage space), one more at the cabin galley line with 2 more perpendicular to that line to the rear of the trailer.

The tongue would be 4'6" beyond the frame, A-Frame with center beam, and one each that intersect with the first crossmember, gusseted and ALL out of 2x3 tube.

QUESTION: Is 2.5 tube (.125 wall) for the frame and crosses adequate? Can I get away with 2" all around to save weight?

I need Help: Axles are making me crazy. . . Where does one get custom width axles? The Northern Tools choices and HF crap just don't cut it... I WANT 13" Wheels MINIMUM, electric brakes and I have no idea if I want under or overslung springs... How does one decide this?

BTW, I am making drawings, they're just on hold until I get some answers here.. :thumbsup:

-Jenn
jmorganix
Teardrop Inspector

Re: Newbie Class - Basic Trailer Materials

Postby citylights » Mon Mar 10, 2014 7:59 am

I would be fine with 2x2 tube everywhere except the trailer tongue. That should be 2x3.

Over or under springs is a choice based on how high you want the teardrop to be. Many... Maybe most are axel over springs to keep the teardrop lower. This looks good for towing with low cars and makes for easy entry into the teardrop.

Towing with a truck or doing an offroad teardrop, it would be axel under springs.