My Frame Design

Ask questions about Harbor Freight trailers, or questions about building your own...

My Frame Design

Postby Dandy Dan » Tue Apr 08, 2014 8:52 pm

I was looking for some opinions/criticisms on my frame design for my tiny canned ham. I've never done this before, so any advice would be helpful.

I'm not a welder, so I plan on paying to have this fabricated.

It will be a 10 foot box with a 3 1/2 foot tongue. I want a drop floor similar to a Scotty with the drop in the main rail to make for easy access through the door. Although the design shows a drop on the driver's side also, it won't be for a door, its to keep symmetry and to add extra storage.

#9 Dexter axle: 10 deg down; electric brakes; 4'4" bracket dimension; 5' 6" hub face
ST205/75R15 tires
Main frame rails (blue): 3" x 2" x 1/4" C-channel
Cross members (green) 2" x 2" x 1/8” angle
drop floor (red) made from the same angle

Ground clearance, assuming full load for axle, would be 13.5” on the main trailer and 7” on the drop down. The axle is rated at 2200lbs and I am aiming for 1600 lbs max so it should set higher.

If anyone knows a company that can fabricate this in the Greater Chicago Area, please let me know.

Thanks
Dan

PS - the tires in the 3d rendering are not to scale - just pulled the model off the internet

Dandy Dan
Teardrop Inspector

Re: My Frame Design

Postby mdk » Wed Apr 09, 2014 8:28 am

Your tongue has only the strength of the weld at the joint where it joins the straight members of the trailer, and the stiffness of the box above it.

That may be enough, but I would want a way to transfer force between the main frame and the tongue with more than just a narrow weld.
5 out of 4 people are bad at math.
mdk
Teardrop Advisor

Postby MtnDon » Wed Apr 09, 2014 9:54 am

First I am not a professional engineer.