trailers... 4x8 or 5x8

Ask questions about Harbor Freight trailers, or questions about building your own...

trailers... 4x8 or 5x8

Postby dperry324 » Mon Aug 11, 2014 7:27 pm

Hello All!

I'm still planning my first build, and I have a trailer question.

My trailer needs to be 5 feet wide, in order to use a full-size mattress. I had intended to use the HF 4x8 trailer, but obviously, unaltered, that will not hold my 5' wide trailer. I had considered the option of building up the frame with 2x4's or 2x6's in order to raise the bed height up above the wheels, so that the floor can extend out over the wheels on each side. But this seems unsafe to me, by making the trailer too top-heavy and having too narrow of a wheel-base. Is this something that is generally done, or is it generally avoided?

This is my first build, and I'm trying to not make it too spendy. The next alternative I see is to get a 5x8 from Northern Tool, but that adds an extra $150 to the price of the trailer alone. I will concede that it should be more stable than building a 5x8 on a 4x8 frame, but is it also overkill?

I'd love to hear your opinions on this.
Regards,
Darryl
dperry324
Teardrop Inspector

Location: Currently Houston Tx, Silicon Valley, CA born and raised!

Re: trailers... 4x8 or 5x8

Postby Catherine+twins » Tue Aug 12, 2014 9:11 pm

I built 5 wide on a 4 wide trailer. Okay, it was a tall trailer, and it was in high cross winds, but I found that it was not a good plan. (See below.)

As the commercials say, wider is better.

:cry:

Catherine
Build Thread Penguino II: viewtopic.php?f=55&t=54919
Build Thread Penguino I: viewtopic.php?t=44431
"Oh, let's just stay here and sing camp songs for a while." 1966, My mom in Isle Royale, MN, in a women's bath house with a momma bear and two cubs outside the door, and three tired kids trapped inside
"Dad! Dad! There's a bear outside!" 1967, Lolo Hot Springs, MT, in a tent-top trailer