How Big Can I Go?

Ask questions about Harbor Freight trailers, or questions about building your own...

How Big Can I Go?

Postby jwh92020 » Mon Jun 29, 2015 10:26 pm

I'm brand new to the teardrop world, but I have done a couple of remodels on a pop up and small travel trailer. How big can you go on a Harbor Freight trailer (1700 lb model) without moving the axle or having to weld? My wife gets a bit claustrophobic, so I want to get her as much room as possible. Since this will be my first TD, I want to start on a smaller scale (I know, start small but make it big - oxymoron). Thanks for any advice.
jwh92020
Teardrop Master

Re: How Big Can I Go?

Postby bobhenry » Tue Jun 30, 2015 8:07 am

Chubby is 5'6" by 10 foot..

I did reinforce the tongue as we discussed (AGAIN) yesterday

http://www.tnttt.com/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=63692&p=1134721#p1134721
Growing older but not up !
bobhenry
Ten Grand Club
Ten Grand Club

Postby jwh92020 » Tue Jun 30, 2015 3:38 pm

Do you think I can get a 6' x 10' platform on one and be safe?
jwh92020
Teardrop Master

Postby pjo129 » Sun Jul 19, 2015 8:32 pm

I went 6' X 8' on the Patrol Box.

Photos in my gallery or build journal. I'm on my phone and posting pics isn't working well.
Pete Olson
Newburgh, IN

"Patrol Box" camper build thread http://tnttt.com/viewtopic.php?f=50&t=55583

It's only dumb if it doesn't work.
pjo129
Teardrop Master

Postby S. Heisley » Sun Jul 19, 2015 11:57 pm

jwh92020 wrote:I'm brand new to the teardrop world, but I have done a couple of remodels on a pop up and small travel trailer. How big can you go on a Harbor Freight trailer (1700 lb model) without moving the axle or having to weld? My wife gets a bit claustrophobic, so I want to get her as much room as possible. Since this will be my first TD, I want to start on a smaller scale (I know, start small but make it big - oxymoron). Thanks for any advice.

A couple things about this: