Looking for input on frame design

Ask questions about Harbor Freight trailers, or questions about building your own...

Looking for input on frame design

Postby Jonnythecanuck » Thu Dec 31, 2020 12:47 pm

Good Day everyone. My Name is Jon and I'm from Nova Scotia, Canada.

I am looking to start building my frame for a 5'x9' teardrop and would love some feedback from you experts.

My goals are:

a) Design and build my own custom trailer as used trailer prices are extremely high here in Nova Scotia.
b) Keep weight reasonable low (Well under my 2020 Rav4 Hybrid's 1750lbs towing capacity)
c) Ensure the frame is nice and strong and easily welded.

I am an industrial mechanic by trade and do have some welding experience. Last year I built a custom utility/zodiac trailer myself out of 3/16" angle with my AD/DC 240v buzzbox stick welder at home. 1/8" is the thinnest material I feel comfortable welding with a 7018 rod.

With that being said. I plan to cut/tack the frame together and have a professional welder MIG weld the frame. I then plan to weld on all secondary components such as floor and fender brackets myself.

I have spent a significant amount of time reading build journals here and have based the frame off of several I have seen here.

I have calculated the basic frame to be 139 lbs.

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

I hope you're able to see the dimensions and notes, I resided to 640x as the image upload page says that's the maximum size.
Jonnythecanuck
Teardrop Inspector

Re: Looking for input on frame design

Postby saltydawg » Thu Dec 31, 2020 7:47 pm

I would go with 2x3 14 gauge ( .085 ) its lighter by .3 lbs a foot and stronger. Yes it would be trickier to stick weld but it would not be bad to tack with a stick. It will allow you to drop about 10% of the weight, which I know it not much but its something. Also add a diagonal in the rear corners but try to plan it for your stabilizers at the same time.