5' X 10' Red Trailer

Ask questions about Harbor Freight trailers, or questions about building your own...

5' X 10' Red Trailer

Postby captainsam » Sat Mar 04, 2006 9:25 pm

I am a newbie here so I hope I am not plowing old ground.

I have an idea for a mini-trailer but my Misses will never go for anything without a porta-potti/wet bath. A 4' X 8' is too small, a 5' X 8' is ok, but a 5' X 10' would be great. I can't weld and want a kit so I have looked at the HF (too small) and the Red Trailers (5' X 8') . I also saw a Red Trailer 5' X 10', non-folding, Landscape Trailer. It is at:

http://www.redtrailers.com/TrailersLandscapingLarge.asp

Problem is I don't want the ramp, side rails, or mesh floor. I e-mailed the Red Trailer folks today to ask:

I am interested in building a small camper and need a basic trailer chassis as a foundation for my project. I looked at your 5 X 8 utility trailer but is is just a little too small. I looked at your SJ-8519 5 X 10 landscaping trailer, but it has features I don't need. For example, I don't need the ramp and side walls. I need a basic chassis in 5 X 10 and with the 2000 GVWR. There are many teardrop and other mini-trailer builders that also would love to have such a chassis available. While they often use the 5 X 8 folding trailer, but even though the folding feature is unneeded. While most of these small trailers usually end up at about 1000# curb weight, the 1450 GVWR is possibly limiting. After all, a DIYer often underestimates weight while planning. Could I buy a SJ-8519 without the uneeded features and at a slightly reduced price? Would you comsider offering a alternative model to the SJ-8519 as a non foldable 5 X 10 flat bed utility trailer without decking and with the 2000 GVWR?

The reply I got from them (in about 30 minutes!):

Could I buy a SJ-8519 without the uneeded features and at a slightly reduced price?

I could sell you it for$ 565.00