HarborFreight Plans & waterproofing

Ask questions about Harbor Freight trailers, or questions about building your own...

HarborFreight Plans & waterproofing

Postby RSBP » Tue Apr 04, 2006 9:51 pm

I'm a newbie and I love this site! :D I'm planning on getting the HarborFreight 4'x8' trailer and build a "Dan Jones Cargo Pod" type teardrop since I plan to live in it over the summer. I'll only be in it to write and process photos (digital) or to sleep - but more head room seems to make more sense. I'm not an engineer - but before I start, will the HF 4x8 be a good size for this sort of design?

Also, I noticed a variety of skins on these teardrops - from wood to aluminum or paint. I'm considering either an oil-based exterior paint or aluminum flashing adhered with pop rivets...a lotta work, but a nice look and waterproof right? Any advice or suggestions on coverings that will last and not leak?

Speaking of leaks... :oops: what is the best way to waterproof the BOTTOM of the teardrop to keep road water and crud from seeping through the floorboards? Paint? Fiberglass? Asphalt sealer? Should I use pressure treated plywood on the floor too?

One more question! I have good woodworking skills and a month off to work on this. How long will it take (hours) to build just the shell? I can work on the inside as I go along... Thanks!!

Becky
All who wander are not lost -
RSBP
Teardrop Inspector

Postby Arne » Tue Apr 04, 2006 10:59 pm

The h/f trailer is a good base.. though only 8 feet long, we (me) often hang the tear off front and back (mine is 10 feet long) to get some extra length.
www.freewebs.com/aero-1
---
I hope I never get too old to play (Arne, Sept 11, 2010)
Arne
Mr. Subject Line

Re: HarborFreight Plans & waterproofing

Postby asianflava » Wed Apr 05, 2006 12:12 am