Trailer Question.....

Ask questions about Harbor Freight trailers, or questions about building your own...

Trailer Question.....

Postby CSVGORDI » Fri Apr 14, 2006 4:13 pm

First post of many to come I'm sure.....

My name is Gordi (nickname), I live in FLorida and I am a total newbie who got hooked on building either a tear or tiny trailer about two years ago.

Well, two years, several direct hits from hurricanes later and the aftermath that had followed, the plans went south.

Well, now that things have settled back down again, I have decided to start the plans for a tiny trailer. My father has decided to help me out with the budget by donating a trailer for the build.

The trailer was originally purchased to haul several full dress motorcycles around while on vacation. Dad no longer rides and the trailer was just sitting around.

It is just over six (6) feet wide and ten (10) feet long. It has leaf springs with the axle mounted above them. The sides are expanded metal with the fenders attached, a rear drop gate (not pictured), a fixed jack in front and even a spare tire.

I originally wanted to buid a tear, but with this trailer I don't think it would be possible without a lot of modifiying (cutting off sides, remounting fenders, etc.) which is outside of my budget at this time.

At first, I thought about building a "weekender" by cutting a section of the side frame out to allow for side doors and still go with a rear galley.

My idea now, is to build a version of George Teagues "GT Compact" with a flat back, rear entry door, no pop up, and the galley on the inside (Florida weather, heat, rain, wind).

My version would not sit as high as this one because the pod would sit on the frame which is between the wheels in a lower position. I think this would be the best design for this type of trailer and easier to water / weatherproof.

What are your thoughts on how this may look with the sides of the original trailer still in tact?