Sketchup

Want to design your own teardrop or tiny travel trailer. You can do that in 2D or 3D. We keep our secrets in here!

Sketchup

Postby Alan_H » Sun Sep 03, 2017 12:08 pm

Has any stepped up to 2017?

I have stayed with 2016 as I heard a lot of negatives from folks using 2017.

I'm just wondering if they have all the bugs worked out yet. :thinking:
Alan_H
Lifetime member
 
Posts: 244
Images: 17
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 4:44 pm

Re: Sketchup

Postby Alan_H » Sat Oct 07, 2017 11:28 am

So, 277 views, and no responses, I'm guessing no one has upgraded?
Alan_H
Lifetime member
 
Posts: 244
Images: 17
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 4:44 pm

Re: Sketchup

Postby cadstuff » Sat Oct 07, 2017 5:34 pm

I've been working on CAD systems since 1990, (first AutoCAD ver 2.50). I gave up a long time ago chasing new versions of any package. I'n currently usint AutoCAD 2007 for 2D and Sketchup 2015 for 3D. I do have a new version available if someone has a model I'd like to look at, but until there's a new feature that I need, it's simply not worth the constant upgrade.
Steve G.
Image
Colorado Springs
User avatar
cadstuff
Teardrop Inspector
 
Posts: 14
Images: 23
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 5:26 pm
Top

Re: Sketchup

Postby QueticoBill » Sat Oct 07, 2017 7:37 pm

I started using AutoCAD v 1.1 in 1982 and have generally upgraded as soon as possible. On subscription now. I've always found the changes worth a day of hassles, and easier than going many versions before upgrading. If you are only ever going to work on your own, and not collaborate, maybe not so important.
QB
A tear with no name: viewtopic.php?f=50&t=67624
QueticoBill
Silver Donating Member
 
Posts: 621
Images: 22
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 7:22 am
Location: Oak Park Illinois
Top

Re: Sketchup

Postby pohukai » Sat Oct 07, 2017 9:06 pm

I upgraded and haven't seen any issues. My focus, however has changed since I used it to design my teardrop. I use it now because when used with a plug-in, you can output a g-code file for 3D printing your model.
pohukai
Teardrop Master
 
Posts: 182
Images: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 10:39 am
Location: Fontana CA
Top

Re: Sketchup

Postby Ge99ne » Mon Oct 09, 2017 9:53 am

I've been using it since it came out. No more issues for me than any other release. I tend to lose a plugin or 2 with each upgrade.
Ge99ne
Teardrop Inspector
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 16, 2014 5:18 pm
Top

Re: Sketchup

Postby Alan_H » Wed Oct 18, 2017 11:32 am

pohukai wrote:I upgraded and haven't seen any issues. My focus, however has changed since I used it to design my teardrop. I use it now because when used with a plug-in, you can output a g-code file for 3D printing your model.

Are you using SketUCam or something else for direct G-code output?
Alan_H
Lifetime member
 
Posts: 244
Images: 17
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 4:44 pm
Top

Re: Sketchup

Postby pohukai » Wed Oct 18, 2017 12:14 pm

I've only installed the plugin and exported. I'll be testing a actual 3D print in the next few days.

https://openbuilds.com/projectresources/sketchucam.1/
pohukai
Teardrop Master
 
Posts: 182
Images: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 10:39 am
Location: Fontana CA
Top

Re: Sketchup

Postby Alan_H » Fri Feb 23, 2018 12:31 pm

pohukai wrote:I've only installed the plugin and exported. I'll be testing a actual 3D print in the next few days.

https://openbuilds.com/projectresources/sketchucam.1/


How did your 3D printing work out?
Alan_H
Lifetime member
 
Posts: 244
Images: 17
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 4:44 pm
Top

Re: Sketchup

Postby pohukai » Fri Feb 23, 2018 1:32 pm

The plug-in to export the STL file works fine most of the time, but had issues in the beginning. To overcome these,

    I always work in mm, since 3D slicers (CURA) work in that best.
    In sketchup, I always select the portions of the model and export 'selected'.. even if I want to export the entire model
    I always review the slicing model in CURA and review the layers before generating the gcode for the printer.

I have found, that sometimes, the STL file will be missing huge portions of the model when they are imported into CURA. This is a real pain, because redrawing in scketch can be time consuming, but is still better than wasting time and material on the printer. If it is wrong in cura, it will be wrong on the printer. I found this out once on the printer..... and went back to view he model in CURA and the problem was visible there, too.

I've been reviewing the fusion360, but that has a huge learning curve and wish sketchup and the plug-in were a little more reliable.

I don't see any issues with the actual print out when I've:
1) Imported an STL into sketchup
2) Modified the model in sketchup
3) Exported the changes as a new STL
4) Imported the new STL into CURA
5) Exported the STL to create the gcode.
pohukai
Teardrop Master
 
Posts: 182
Images: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 10:39 am
Location: Fontana CA
Top


Return to CAD secrets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest