TurboCad Question

Want to design your own teardrop or tiny travel trailer. You can do that in 2D or 3D. We keep our secrets in here!

TurboCad Question

Postby Jimbo » Sat Feb 28, 2009 8:27 pm

OK, I've been working on learning TurboCad and I have one thing that I can't quite figure out. I want to try to use libraries. I have downloaded some symbol libraries in DWG format and have placed them into my Shapes folder. The libraries contain multiple items in them and when I go to insert, it places the whole library without letting me pick an individual element. Any tips? I am using TurboCad 15 Designer edition.

Thanks
Started many, finished none... Bought a TTT <Sigh> ;)
User avatar
Jimbo
2nd Teardrop Club
 
Posts: 290
Images: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2004 5:56 pm
Location: Kentucky

Postby angib » Sun Mar 01, 2009 11:12 am

I'm a little mystified, as TC Symbols seem to always be a single item in each file.

One thought is are you actually using 'Insert'? If so, instead just open the one file containing the symbol you want, select the entity (or entities) in it and copy/paste that.

Andrew
User avatar
angib
5000 Club
5000 Club
 
Posts: 5783
Images: 231
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2004 2:04 pm
Location: (Olde) England

Postby Jimbo » Sun Mar 01, 2009 11:54 am

angib wrote:I'm a little mystified, as TC Symbols seem to always be a single item in each file.

One thought is are you actually using 'Insert'? If so, instead just open the one file containing the symbol you want, select the entity (or entities) in it and copy/paste that.

Andrew


That may be my problem. These are actually AutoCad Library Blocks which have multiples per file. I thought there might be some way to select the one I wanted to insert out of the group. I'm going to try to open the original file and trim out all the other symbols and save it out by itself.

Whew, this CAD thing is tough but starting to learn it has already helped me at work.

Thanks
Started many, finished none... Bought a TTT <Sigh> ;)
User avatar
Jimbo
2nd Teardrop Club
 
Posts: 290
Images: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2004 5:56 pm
Location: Kentucky
Top

Postby mikeschn » Sun Mar 01, 2009 1:42 pm

Jimbo wrote:

Whew, this CAD thing is tough but starting to learn it has already helped me at work.

Thanks


What do you do at work, that learning a CAD program can help? :?

Mike...
The quality is remembered long after the price is forgotten, so build your teardrop with the best materials...
User avatar
mikeschn
Site Admin
 
Posts: 19128
Images: 468
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 11:01 am
Location: MI
Top

Postby Jimbo » Sun Mar 01, 2009 5:34 pm

mikeschn wrote:
Jimbo wrote:

Whew, this CAD thing is tough but starting to learn it has already helped me at work.

Thanks


What do you do at work, that learning a CAD program can help? :?

Mike...


I do network administration. A couple of weeks ago, I was asked to attend a pre-bid conference for a big job we're a part of and show were all of our Fiber came into the site. I was handed a floorplan that had been marked up in pencil with the locations so afterward I told my boss that I would just take the CAD files and place a new layer for Fiber in them which I was able to do.

Also, now when I need a new network drop ran, rather than describing the location of the jacks, I can actually add them to the drawing on the correct wall for the person that will pull it. I know it's not much but in this economy, I think any edge is a plus. ;) I think it helps me to look more efficient.

I am going to start doing my network topology documents and rack layouts in CAD. Symbols don't really exist for any of my gear but I was thinking about starting some of them.

That and, it's actually fun. ;)
Started many, finished none... Bought a TTT <Sigh> ;)
User avatar
Jimbo
2nd Teardrop Club
 
Posts: 290
Images: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2004 5:56 pm
Location: Kentucky
Top

Postby mikeschn » Sun Mar 01, 2009 5:44 pm

Ah, that makes perfect sense...

Mike... :D
The quality is remembered long after the price is forgotten, so build your teardrop with the best materials...
User avatar
mikeschn
Site Admin
 
Posts: 19128
Images: 468
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 11:01 am
Location: MI
Top

Postby angib » Sun Mar 01, 2009 5:53 pm

Jimbo wrote:That and, it's actually fun.

Welcome to The Dark Side..... :oops:

Very soon, all other software that doesn't have CAD functions will seem insufficient. I don't know why I'd want to draw in my spreadsheets, but it annoys me that I can't.

Andrew
User avatar
angib
5000 Club
5000 Club
 
Posts: 5783
Images: 231
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2004 2:04 pm
Location: (Olde) England
Top

Postby mikeschn » Sun Mar 01, 2009 5:58 pm

When I played around in IronCAD a few years ago, I was able to link directly to a spreadsheet, and change the drawing by changing a value in a spreadsheet cell. That was pretty cool.

Mike...
The quality is remembered long after the price is forgotten, so build your teardrop with the best materials...
User avatar
mikeschn
Site Admin
 
Posts: 19128
Images: 468
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 11:01 am
Location: MI
Top

Postby Jimbo » Sun Mar 01, 2009 6:22 pm

mikeschn wrote:When I played around in IronCAD a few years ago, I was able to link directly to a spreadsheet, and change the drawing by changing a value in a spreadsheet cell. That was pretty cool.

Mike...


That is cool! I started by trying QCAD then I decided to give TurboCAD a try. I'd have to say that I like TurboCAD better at this point. I'm still amazed at what you guys can do with CAD.
Started many, finished none... Bought a TTT <Sigh> ;)
User avatar
Jimbo
2nd Teardrop Club
 
Posts: 290
Images: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2004 5:56 pm
Location: Kentucky
Top

Postby mikeschn » Sun Mar 01, 2009 6:30 pm

If you think CAD is cool, then just look what you can do when you know CNC too...

Image

Image

Image

That's my goal for next year! :D

Mike...
The quality is remembered long after the price is forgotten, so build your teardrop with the best materials...
User avatar
mikeschn
Site Admin
 
Posts: 19128
Images: 468
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 11:01 am
Location: MI
Top

Postby Jimbo » Sun Mar 01, 2009 6:48 pm

mikeschn wrote:If you think CAD is cool, then just look what you can do when you know CNC too...

That's my goal for next year! :D

Mike...


That is just tool cool!!! That's actually what got me started. I've been lurking over at CNCZone and I've been thinking about starting a JGRO design this spring when it warms up. I figured that I should probably know CAD before I even considered it. Well, in the process of learning CAD, I actually found it useful at work so, who knew? ;) I have used MS Visio for years although I never particularly liked it.

I remember reading that you had a CNC router, right? What design did you go with?
Started many, finished none... Bought a TTT <Sigh> ;)
User avatar
Jimbo
2nd Teardrop Club
 
Posts: 290
Images: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2004 5:56 pm
Location: Kentucky
Top

Postby mikeschn » Sun Mar 01, 2009 7:04 pm

I haven't used my CNC machine much. I've only ever done 2 1/2D machining. That's why my goal is to learn 3D CNC.

Here's the AC cover I did for the Lil Diner...

Image

I also plan on building a new CNC router someday, and dismantling the old one. It has WAY too much flex in it. I will probably use angle iron for rails, similar to the 4x4 that Joecnc2006 built.

He also has kits and plans... I might even buy one of his kits!
http://joescnc.com/kitsplans.php

You can see it here, as well as cnczone...
http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid ... 9518&hl=en

Here's a better pic...

Image

Mike...
The quality is remembered long after the price is forgotten, so build your teardrop with the best materials...
User avatar
mikeschn
Site Admin
 
Posts: 19128
Images: 468
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 11:01 am
Location: MI
Top

Postby Jimbo » Sun Mar 01, 2009 8:00 pm

mikeschn wrote:I haven't used my CNC machine much. I've only ever done 2 1/2D machining. That's why my goal is to learn 3D CNC.

Here's the AC cover I did for the Lil Diner...

I also plan on building a new CNC router someday, and dismantling the old one. It has WAY too much flex in it. I will probably use angle iron for rails, similar to the 4x4 that Joecnc2006 built.

He also has kits and plans... I might even buy one of his kits!
http://joescnc.com/kitsplans.php

You can see it here, as well as cnczone...
http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid ... 9518&hl=en

Here's a better pic...

Mike...


I hadn't really looked at JoesCNC but now that I do, it's pretty slick. I figure that the JGRO would be a good place to start. I've got a plastics company down by me so I was thinking about getting some of the pieces cut from HDPE.

For right now, the 2D will work since I was just wanting to cut out some engraving. I'd like to learn the 3D stuff eventually.

What are you using for CAM?
Started many, finished none... Bought a TTT <Sigh> ;)
User avatar
Jimbo
2nd Teardrop Club
 
Posts: 290
Images: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2004 5:56 pm
Location: Kentucky
Top

Postby mikeschn » Mon Mar 02, 2009 3:24 am

For my 2 1/2D I used TurboCAM, an add on to TurboCAD. It's pretty primitive though.

I watched Turtle use Vcarve, and I was impressed. I would also check out their 2D and 3D products, here...
http://www.vectric.com/

BTW, I found this page very helpful, and I will be trying a demo of MeshCAM when I get to that point.
http://www.cuttingedgecnc.com/programs.htm

Of course, this looks pretty good too! http://www.vectric.com/WebSite/Vectric/ ... atures.htm

Mike...
The quality is remembered long after the price is forgotten, so build your teardrop with the best materials...
User avatar
mikeschn
Site Admin
 
Posts: 19128
Images: 468
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 11:01 am
Location: MI
Top


Return to CAD secrets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest