Ideas for surf fishing rig

Lets captures all those good off road construction ideas here...

Moderator: Sonetpro

Ideas for surf fishing rig

Postby Billy C. » Sun Jun 05, 2016 1:27 pm

Hi everyone I'm new to this forum but not to building things or rvs. I want to build a off-road camper to use for many different uses, but the primary use would be for surf fishing on the gulf coast. The info that I've got from this site and other locations is a great help. But I'm really seeking more info as to what to build. I've got three choices of what I could build, and about a dozen or more of how. First how I intend to use it. For the most part I will use it to go on camping trips around the US. And then to use it for surf fishing. And I intend to pull it with a jeep for the most part. So it has to be fairly light and strong. And that brings me to the materials to build it from. I am retired from the pipeline industry where I worked as a heavy equipment mechanic for 40 years, and have my own fabrication shop. So the materials I make it from can be chosen for light weight and strength. I'm leaning towards a steel frame with epoxy laminated thin plywood with good insulation, and a door skin wood interior. I am very interested in making a four bar suspension with air bags and good shocks. I'm thinking that a box type trailer about 5x10 and five high with a outdoor galley at the rear would be about the right size. I am also going to have solar and a small gen. (Honda Eu 2000) I'm even thinking of a small wind turbine. And lots of battery as I also want to have a ac unit, like the dog house type but a window shaker would work too. As I want the ability to go way off grid for a week or so at a time so I know a large water supply will be needed too. If you guys have any ideas for me or suggestions I will appreciate it thanks Bill C.
Billy C.
Teardrop Builder

Re: Ideas for surf fishing rig

Postby lrrowe » Sun Jun 05, 2016 2:08 pm