Howdy from Arizona

This is the place where you can introduce yourself, and include a photo if so desired.

Howdy from Arizona

Postby Joe Staller » Wed Feb 27, 2008 8:07 pm

I'm way late on introducing myself. I've been lurking and soaking up your advice since last summer.

I've lived in Tempe, Arizona since 1980 and work in semiconductors. I'm a pretty fair woodworker, and even though I own and use a table saw, band saw, and a drawer full of routers I also have a good collection of antique Stanley hand planes that are sharpened and ready to go. I'm also into woodturning (bowls, hollow vessels, boxes) although the teardrop compulsion has kept me away from the lathe for a while.

I'm well on my way to completing my "first" teardrop, the basic, generic Benroy. Mine is a 5X9 on a HF frame. I insulated the floor, and put insulation in the walls as well. (In my case, it's mostly to keep the heat out!) I've skinned the Benroy with painted white aluminum, and once I attach the hatch this weekend I should be weather tight.

Nice touches: I opted for two doors with slider windows, and will have an AC window shaker mounted on full extension slides that resides behind a door on the curb side. (Mounted where the curb side cabin cabinet would normally be located if that makes any sense.) I installed a 10" deep storage box the width of the trailer over the axle, accessed by a split hatch from inside the cabin. I put diamond plate aluminum as a stone guard on the lower front of the trailer. I spent the extra $$ for a Fantastic vent.

I still need to build the cabinets. I kind of saved that for last, since that is the one thing I actually knew how to do before I started.