Hello and my new POP OUT teardrop.

This is the place where you can introduce yourself, and include a photo if so desired.

Hello and my new POP OUT teardrop.

Postby Mike46 » Tue Sep 09, 2014 8:38 pm

Hello all, my name is Mike and I’m located between Denver and Boulder in Colorado. I’m a designer / engineer for the furniture industry and use SolidWorks CAD software every day for my job.

I had a Coleman Colorado popup tent trailer for a short time but didn't like the bed size or soft top construction. I like the idea of the teardrop but wanted somewhere to stand. I’m willing to give up the rear galley for some space, and move the kitchen to the side.

My idea seems original, I designed it from scratch but after further research find that it has similarities to the other designs. It has a hinged drop floor like the Gypsy King Folding Travel Trailer, but uses cable stays instead of legs to support the floor. The lifting gate element is like many squarish back teardrops. I did steal the rear door / folding support from the Kampmaster. At first it didn’t have a side teardrop style door, just the rear door. Then I realized it could be used without opening up the back, if it had the side door.

Left rear isometric in open position, left hand tent and left side of box removed.

Left side section.

Right rear isometric in open position, left hand tent removed.

Right front isometric in closed position.

Left side section showing drop floor in raised position and lid closed.