Newbie Planning Civil War Teardrop

This is the place where you can introduce yourself, and include a photo if so desired.

Newbie Planning Civil War Teardrop

Postby Vernacular » Fri Jan 16, 2015 4:47 am

Hi Campers! My name is Vern and I wanna build a TD to use as a cargo trailer and Messwagon for my Civil War reenactment unit. I managed to create a gallery and post the above foto, but if someone could tell me how to make it my avatar I sure would be grateful! :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:
I admit to being a digital dinosaur. :(

I joined this Forum a while back when I first found it, but it took me a while to clear my plate and make time for this, so I thought I should re-introduce myself:
I live in beautiful and historic Conway, South Carolina (the Palmetto State, see photo). I work as a cook in a fine-dining restaurant in Myrtle Beach and enjoy motorcycles, fishing and woodworking. I'm single and co-own the old family manse with my brother. I have a roomy garage/workshop with lots of lighting and outlets. I rely on a couple different kerosene heaters out there but I probably won't be building till it warms up a little.

My Civil War unit goes camping about once a month, and what I want to be able to do is load up the cooler(s) with ice and stow groceries in the teardrop, then stow my firearms, uniforms, and personal items in the truck, hook up and go. I'll keep all my heavy stuff like cots, wooden tent poles and dutch ovens in the TD all the time, and stow canvas tentage and bedrolls the week of the event, to avoid mildew.