New from North Dakota!

This is the place where you can introduce yourself, and include a photo if so desired.

New from North Dakota!

Postby nicoleandkyle » Thu Dec 27, 2018 11:17 am

Hi everyone,

My boyfriend and I have been talking about building a teardrop trailer for a couple of years now, and we're finally taking the plunge. We have very minimal experience with construction, but despite this we have been drawing up our own plans We've watched a ton of YouTube videos and read through some builds on this forum, so that's what our plans have been based on.
I'm still not 100% sure on all of the nicknames and terms everyone has for things. (Maybe there is a glossary somewhere?) But what we are building I believe it called a "woodie", as it will be all wooden with fiberglass/epoxy on outer shell.

We have the 5x8 northern tool trailer that I've seen recommended by many. We assembled it and painted it with truck bed coating, but I think I'm going to plan to paint over that with the same color we want to use on our roof. Originally I thought our roof would just be finished wood + fiberglass, but I don't want a seam to show and we will be using 5x5 1/8" birch on the roof - so inevitably there would be a seam showing near the front that would probably look stupid. So my new idea is to paint the entire roof a bright aqua/teal color before applying the fiberglass.

We're finished with our floor and walls design, and I'm going to try to finish up the galley and inside cabinets/shelving designs this weekend so we can start building the floor and wall template next week.

Wow this post ended up a lot longer than I intended! The design process has been grueling, but I'm feeling really pumped!Image

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
nicoleandkyle
Teardrop Advisor

Re: New from North Dakota!

Postby Mr. Lahey » Thu Dec 27, 2018 5:53 pm

Welcome to the forum.