My Covid Sanity project

This is the place where you can introduce yourself, and include a photo if so desired.

My Covid Sanity project

Postby chelle3271 » Fri Jul 10, 2020 8:26 pm

Hi, all! :)

So, a year ago, I thought I'd have a mostly empty nest by now with three kids in college. But circumstances being what they are, I think I've instead become the dorm mom. I need an out! :lol: :wine: Since I'm a teacher, I plan on spending the rest of my summers anywhere but home...and maybe even get away a bit this fall if I really put forth the effort.

I started looking at buying a teardrop to pull behind my CR-V and stumbled across tnttt and I've been hooked! I know just enough about woodworking to get myself in trouble, and this seemed like the perfect kind of trouble. I started with the idea of building on my current 4x6 trailer that I use to transport kayaks, but decided I needed a bit more space, so I'm buying a 5x8 trailer from Tractor Supply and building it out to a 6x9. I have a friend who wants to go along with me if I can create two single beds, so I present to you: My Plans.

Since the trailer has side rails, I'm creating a "basement" that will be accessible from inside the trailer. The bonus is that the "basement" access inside the trailer will give me about 8-10 inches of extra depth between the beds--and since I'm only 5'2", I will "almost" be able to stand.

I was able to get four camper windows AND a door for only $80!! 8) They need all new seals and a fresh coat of paint, but are in all other ways in good shape. I may or may not choose to use the door. I'm playing with the idea of creating a large hatch that may or may not hinge at the top.

The galley ends up being just deep enough for storage (about 15in deep), but with a slide-out "counter" under one of the shelves. The plans you see here are just me playing around with ideas. I'm hoping to pick up the trailer next week and get started. Feel free to give me your thoughts!