Help! Seasoned Cast Iron came out very, very sticky!

Ask questions about or share pics of your latest find...

Help! Seasoned Cast Iron came out very, very sticky!

Postby CAJUN LADY » Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:14 pm

I just seasoned a 4 qt. camp dutch oven in my oven with Crisco. Have done this many times before and never had this problem...it came out very sticky. I put it in the oven at 300 for about an hour, then let it cool, took some of the residue off then put it back in the oven at 300 for over an hour and a half. When I took it out (after it cooled) it was sticky. I tried using water and even a wool (no soap) scrubber but it is still sticky. What the heck did I do wrong this time around? This piece was bought on Ebay and is not a name brand - just a generic oven.
Becca
~Cajun Lady~
CAJUN LADY
Donating Member

Postby asianflava » Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:21 pm

I'm no expert so I'm just guessing. Maybe it didn't get hot enough?

Are you using the same oven that you've done it in before? I happened to have the infared thermometer while baking something. I shot the inside of the oven and it was way off, like 50deg or so.

Stick it in can turn it up. It should smoke while seasoning....which is why I do it outside on the BBQ.
asianflava
8000 Club
8000 Club

Postby caseydog » Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:23 pm

I'm not an expert, but from my experience, you need to wipe the cast iron down when it first comes out of the oven from the initial seasoning.

Once it cools, it may not want to come off, even if you re-heat it.

I always wipe mine down right after it comes out of the oven to get the excess fat off the iron.

Hopefully, some more experienced folks will chime in, but this is my own experience.

My build journal is HERE
caseydog
Platinum Donating Member

Postby Kevin A » Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:30 pm

I agree with Rocky about the heat not being high enough. Another possibility if it was a new piece that wasn't preseasoned, it may have a wax coating to prevent rust.