a question about using a do table

Ask questions about or share pics of your latest find...

a question about using a do table

Postby NWsage » Mon Jun 23, 2008 8:49 pm

Hi,
I hope this isn't a stupid question ... but, I'm trying to understand the need & benefits of using a table for do cooking.

I was a trail cook for several summers where I learned to cook with do's. We packed in by mule the do's and charcoal. When cooking for dinner, we just placed the bottom layer of coals directly on the dirt or on foil if the ground was damp. Even when we cooked at base camp, we didn't use any do tables.

Now that I'm considerably older, I can see the benefits of not having to bend over or kneel so much ... but, as I recall, once the meal is baking, I didn't do much more than monitor the correct heat distribution and turn the oven and/or lid with a lid holder, if needed.

I will want to bring my do's in our new (to us) little teardrop every now and again. But, I also want to keep our load as light as possible. That is, I'm trying to figure out if it's worth having a table.

Please, let me know what I'm missing by not having a table ... :thinking:

Thanks, Suanne
NWsage
Donating Member

Postby mandy » Mon Jun 23, 2008 9:21 pm

Ask Joanne, Matt or Dean. They are the DO experts here. If you feel inclined go to the camp-cook link in the above menu and It'll take you to Joanne's forum for all thing camp cooking, including DO tables.

Hope this helps.
Mandy
The greatest wealth is to live content with little.
~Plato~
mandy
Donating Member

Postby Dean in Eureka, CA » Mon Jun 23, 2008 9:47 pm

Suanne,
That's a darned good question...
Tables mainly came about from competition cooking with requirements from property owners where cookoffs take place, that briquettes must be elevated above the ground... Health department issues and concerns as well.
I got by for a long time without one, using concrete blocks and pizza pans.