A cautionary tale ** check page 2 for the stove all finished

Lanterns, stoves, etc... anything old!

A cautionary tale ** check page 2 for the stove all finished

Postby jeporter25 » Fri May 25, 2012 7:12 pm

I learned this the hard way as I am new to this as well. I bought a 425 no letter stove at the antique fair for $10 (score!!!) ( There will be a pic , i know the rule...no pic= didn't happen) I pressure tested the tank and it was fine. Without any effort the stove lit fine. I decided to clean her up and maybe give her a new paint job so i began the tear down process. i removed all the hardware and gave everything a good scrubbing but I didn't have time to do any paint prepping so I set her aside to finish another day. The next morning I had an itch on my forehead and i thought i got hit by a mosquito. By the end of the day it was a full rash and it was also on my arm. my lovely wife thought i had some kind of virus. It took me three days to figure out that I had POISON OAK :x and the only place i could have gotten it from is the stove. It is clear that one of the previous owners was not as cautious about where they put their gear when camping. From now on all of my restores will begin with a wash-down with Tecnu. oh here is the pic
Attachments
425 PO.jpg
425 PO.jpg (93.92 KiB) Viewed 4844 times
Last edited by jeporter25 on Tue Jun 26, 2012 5:32 pm, edited 2 times in total.
jeporter25
Teardrop Master

Re: A cautionary tale

Postby DragonFire » Fri May 25, 2012 9:04 pm

WOW!! :shock: Poison oak from camping equipment!! :shock:

I'm not sure what to say! I didn't think that could happen. But I guess it can! Maybe that's why the sold it..I wonder how many other people touched the stove before you bought it. Maybe the family that owned it before was immune.

But the real question is....why did someone put their stove in poison oak in the first place??!! :thinking:
'79 Grasshopper
Coleman Keepers 200a Gang
DragonFire
Donating Member