200A - What would cause?...

Lanterns, stoves, etc... anything old!

200A - What would cause?...

Postby TRP » Wed Oct 10, 2012 10:09 pm

Hey Gang,

I'm new to the white gas scene. I don't know a lot about them or how to troubleshoot them.I have a '65 Coleman 200A lantern that will only burn for a couple of minutes before it starts to sputter and dim out. It pumps up and holds okay and will light just fine, but it only stays burning for a few minutes.

What would cause this? Is there a place on the board here where I can find this info quickly? I tried searching, but couldn't find the correct text string to return the right thread.

Thanks,
Ted
TRP
Silver Donating Member

Re: 200A - What would cause?...

Postby starleen2 » Wed Oct 10, 2012 10:19 pm

sounds like your generator is getting plugged up - maybe give it a good cleaning or replace it
starleen2
5th Teardrop Club

Postby TRP » Wed Oct 10, 2012 10:33 pm

Is there a place where a new enthusiast can learn how to clean their generator?

/me runs off to search...

Thanks,
Ted
TRP
Silver Donating Member

Postby kzhorse » Sat Oct 13, 2012 1:10 pm

If it keeps presure the generator is cloging up,If it looses presure fast the Fuel/Air tube is stuck open letting all the presure out.

Scott
kzhorse
Teardrop Master

Postby Woodbutcher » Sat Oct 13, 2012 4:00 pm

Ted, have you tried rotating the tip cleaner when it starts to dim? If it helps momentarily you may have a dirty tank. The first thing I do when I try to get an old lantern running is check the condition of the tank. If it has fuel in it I pour it into a plastic cup with a paper towel over the top. This will catch any rust or crud that has collected. If it pours clean and smells right I reuse it. If there is lots or rust it can be clogging the generator. Carb cleaner will help with cleaning the generator.

you might get some help here. http://www.oldtowncoleman.com/tech/re2lantb.htm