Truck Pop-Up Camper Conversion into a TTT

Design & Construction of anything that's not a teardrop e.g. Grasshoppers or Sunspots

Truck Pop-Up Camper Conversion into a TTT

Postby skiberg » Sun Oct 10, 2010 12:27 pm

Hello,

I've been using a Four-Wheel Pop-Up camper for the last 10 years. Now that I have two kids, we've outgrown the camper. I need room for four. I would like to keep the camper and convert it into a TTT. The camper has an aluminum upper frame, and it's 6 ft. wide by 10 ft. long. I realize that I would need to cut the front end of the aluminum frame off in order to extend the interior the full length. My general design concept would be similar to George Teague's Pop Up camper.

I have been looking through this sight for many months and I am amazed at all of the innovative design and construction techniques. I'm hoping to tap into some of that expertise, knowledge and ingenuity for this project. Any ideas or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Pictures of the original camper are posted below. Thanks.

Image[/img]
skiberg
Teardrop Inspector

Postby DougH » Mon Oct 25, 2010 1:54 pm

Wow, that is a great idea. I'd only use the top portion and reverse it, having the raised bed at the rear with the galley built under it. Having a low profile trailer yet being able to stand inside would be great.

Other option might to build under the cabover portion as a seperate "bedroom" from the rest of the unit and then just redo the siding to make it look like one unit. You would have tons of storage room on the lower enclosed sides.
DougH
Teardrop Master

Postby S. Heisley » Tue Oct 26, 2010 9:49 am

DougH has some good ideas, either of which might work.