{Ultimate Camping} Trailer - the mobile kitchen/power plant

Design & Construction of anything that's not a teardrop e.g. Grasshoppers or Sunspots

Postby AlienSKP » Tue Jan 20, 2015 10:15 am

Hi there !

Here is my trailer building journal. I'll do my best to update it regularly. My goal is clear : build a trailer that ends up in the "Hall of Fame" :)

It's the first trailer I'm going to build, but I'm not a beginner in DIYs. I've been building electronic automated systems (based on Arduino) and I also know how to use wood tools.

I've searched online without success for buying a trailer that would suits my needs for camping, so I decided to build it myself.

Requirements
  • I'm a hammock camper. I love teardrop trailers, but I can't sleep inside a tiny box. I need to see the sky. I need some fresh air on my face.
  • It should be less than 1000 lbs because I'll tow it with my 2010 Ford Mustang V6 and this is the maximum I can tow
  • It should carry a little kitchen like teardrop trailers, because I'm a cook. I love cooking a lot. Every meal is a pleasure to cook, and I'm tired to pack/unpack my kitchen stuff. I'm getting old and I want comfort for cooking so I want a fridge, a sink, an lots of storage for pans and pots.
  • It should embed a little power plant, because I want a lot of energy (see previous point). And I don't want to have to hook anywhere to recharge. So I need big batteries and a decend size solar array to recharge them.
  • It should carry my camping gear so I don't have to load/unload my car when I want to go camping. Hook and go !
  • It should be good looking, because... who want to tow a piece of sh!t with a Mustang ?

That being said, here is the plan !
I'm going to build a stylish cargo box out of aluminium (frame) and wood, with a composite sandwich fiberglass shell.
It should look like something like this:
Here is a little sketch with the car that will pull it
Size will be 4 by 6 ft.