Summertime Benroy Build- Finally named: The "Towster"!

...ask your questions in the appropriate forums BUT document your build here...preferably in a single thread...dates for updates, are appreciated....

Summertime Benroy Build- Finally named: The "Towster"!

Postby Babartlett » Thu Jun 19, 2014 11:15 pm

Hey Folks,

I am new to the forum and I am finally getting started on my long awaited build!

For a little background on me here is what I recently posted on the newbie column:

My name is Brian, and I am a mechanical engineering student at the University of Alabama. I spend most weekends traveling and getting involved in more outdoor sports than I should. My biggest time commitment is whitewater kayaking and I have been the president of the whitewater kayaking club at the university for three years now. I met my fiancee in the kayak club and she is a crucial part of many of the trips. I have always considered myself handy, and thanks to my dad, I have had access to a garage full of tools since I was a kid. For the last couple years, I have worked as a mechanical engineering co-op at Nucor Steel in Tuscaloosa AL where I have picked up valuable steel fabrication skills.

I have always enjoyed camping for recreation, but now most of the camping I do is a primitive place to stay after a day on the river. After packing up one too many wet tents, I decided one day that there has to be an easier way to camp. I went back and forth with designs for a couple years until I discovered the world of teardrop trailers. After finding this site and a final month of heavy research, I am starting my build. This will be my last summer with a flexible schedule and I am hoping to finish my little camper before school starts back in August.