5'x10' styled after Timberleaf Classic

...ask your questions in the appropriate forums BUT document your build here...preferably in a single thread...dates for updates, are appreciated....

5'x10' styled after Timberleaf Classic

Postby airdonut41 » Sat Nov 07, 2020 7:55 pm

So I've posted a few questions on here before getting started, but mostly have been crawling through tons of previous posts to get through the planning stages of this project. Anyway, I made the first few cuts today and figured I'd post some pictures of the plans and some pictures of progress as I go. As mentioned in the title, I'm going for something that looks like a Timberleaf Classic https://timberleaftrailers.com/classic-teardrop-trailer/ with a bare aluminum skin. I've drawn up most of what I'm thinking in SolidWorks, but am still not totally set on the cabinets/headboard setup I have right now. I'm definitely open to suggestions, but would prefer to keep it relatively simple as this is my first build and I'm extremely new to woodworking.

This picture has most of the layers, with the outer layers transparent so you can get an idea of what the structure looks like.
airdonut41
Teardrop Builder

Re: 5'x10' styled after Timberleaf Classic

Postby airdonut41 » Sat Nov 07, 2020 8:06 pm

Today's progress: cuts for the trailer frame. I screwed up the miter cuts at the corners because I made the mistake of trusting the guide on the chop saw, but nothing that couldn't be solved with some angle grinder love. Tomorrow, I'll try to weld the the tubing for the frame as well as as many components as possible (spring mounts, tabs for mounting the teardrop body, tongue, etc.). The whole thing is 2" x 1/8" square steel tube that will be paired with a 2k kit from https://thetrailerpartsoutlet.com/.

airdonut41
Teardrop Builder

Postby tony.latham » Sat Nov 07, 2020 8:41 pm

I've drawn up most of what I'm thinking in SolidWorks, but am still not totally set on the cabinets/headboard setup I have right now.