G&M's 'Drop

...ask your questions in the appropriate forums BUT document your build here...preferably in a single thread...dates for updates, are appreciated....

G&M's 'Drop

Postby GarthB » Thu Apr 29, 2021 4:57 am

Hey Everyone,

My name is Garth and my wife and I have embarked on our first teardrop adventure - the build. I am a Civil Engineer by day and my wife is a nurse by night. We both love the outdoors and have been eyeing teardrops for a few months. The astronomical prices of factory teardrops were out of the question for us and I love to build things during my free time, so a build seemed like a good fit. However, my biggest apprehension was sourcing all of the material during a time when material prices are through the roof and things are hard to find.

One day while surfing Craigslist, I found a heap of teardrop parts that a gentleman was selling. He'd started a build but later decided to pursue other hobbies. The highlights of the heap included a 5x10 trailer built by a local trailer shop, two doors, aluminum sheets, trim, a hurricane hinge, inverter, lights, outlets, and a floor. After a little wheeling and dealing, I picked it all up for a steal of a deal. The build had begun.

The first thing I did was strip the trailer of the structure that the original owner had built. I wasn't a fan of the design philosophy that he had.

Next, I removed the floor (3/4" birch). The top side was polyurethaned and the underside was covered in roofing tar. I plan to use this, unless anyone has any roofing tar horror stories to share.

With the floor off, this allowed me to inspect the trailer wiring. I have never seen a factory built trailer with a wiring job built to last, and this was no exception. I went through all of the wiring and waterproofed all of the connections with liquid electrical tape.