Outer skins

Canvas covered foamies (Thrifty Alternatives...)

Moderator: eaglesdare

Outer skins

Postby Gizzmo » Tue Nov 19, 2013 1:46 pm

What do You guys consider to be the lightest,strongest,( strongest as in able to withstand rocks flying up from the wheels or say a baseball whacking into it) UV resistant, rigid outer skin? Oh and paintable.
I would use 1/4 plywood but wanted lighter if I could

The Formica really looked neat, just not sure how well it will take the sun exposer.

Also what do you all use for a decorative corner that will mold around curves?

I am new to this foam building but it sure looks fun
Gizzmo
Teardrop Advisor

Re: Outer skins

Postby KCStudly » Tue Nov 19, 2013 3:48 pm

One of the beauties of foam and canvas construction (or epoxy glass if you prefer that method) is that you really don't need the expense or complication of traditional trim. In fact, not having a place for water to get is one of the biggest attractions.

My plan is to radius the wall to roof/front/hatch edges and wrap the canvas right on around; no trim.

Some people believe that FRP makes a good rugged and paintable surface, but if it were me, I would just leave it the factory color (boring white or blah tan); less chance of paint failure (seems as tho proper prep is key, and perhaps more difficult than usual due to the textured surface... although some people flip it and use the smooth side out). There is some concern that it is not UV stable, but there are some examples of older material doing quite well outside. It does seem kind of heavy, but I wonder how much of that is because you are handling the finished product and not just one of the elements at a time (i.e. it is heavier than canvas, but is it heavier than canvas once the glue and paint are all applied?). :thinking:

I would rank FRP as more puncture resistant than Formica, but then my experience is limited with both.
KC
My Build: The Poet Creek Express Hybrid Foamie

Poet Creek Or Bust