Classic restorations on foam?

Canvas covered foamies (Thrifty Alternatives...)

Moderator: eaglesdare

Classic restorations on foam?

Postby spacer » Fri Nov 10, 2017 9:06 am

I've seen a bunch of folks snapping up classic trailers, especially since I'm in the Tin Can Tourist group of FB, and restoring them to their former glory.
I've also seen quite a few either doing resto-mods, or stripping them out for other uses. Members of the former group are sometimes surly about the latter group, especially when they gut
and modify a rare specimen.

Something I've been interested in doing, as I'm a photographer (trained amateur, though I've made a few bucks here and there... still working in I.T.), is a classic photobooth trailer. People appear to be loving these things, and
I figure if I work it right, it could be a livable trailer while still maintaining the photobooth space.

On the other hand... Seems like it might be fairly easy to pick a most attractive, and extremely rare, design... and re-create it with foam. Keep the look of the classic, and build the interior to suit whatever job needs done.
It could also be downsized a bit, especially if you don't need all the original space.

It could also be done with a more traditional teardrop shape, I suppose, as the traditional photobooth is a sit-down arrangement anyway.
spacer
Teardrop Builder

Re: Classic restorations on foam?

Postby spacer » Fri Nov 10, 2017 9:29 am

As an aside, it just occurred to me that a great way to practice the technique would be to build a traditional "booth" with the foamboard methods described on this forum. I could make it super light, quick to setup and take down,
and even size-adjustable by adding or removing panels as needed. I could use velcro straps to hold it together. The whole thing, save for the camera/printer package, would store flat, and would fit in the back of my car!