Camper made from SIPs - advice?

Member designs created in Sketchup or other cad program

Camper made from SIPs - advice?

Postby JacksonCBall » Sun Jan 04, 2015 6:42 pm

Hi all - Newbie to the forum here (besides secretly spending all of my time on here for the past month). I'm looking for feedback on my design, especially it's strength structurally. But any other feedback is welcomed! For the record, I have zero background in construction, carpentry, or teardrops. Just an outdoorsman looking to build a camper. :thumbsup:

Here is my current design:

sPanel#1.jpg
sPanel#1.jpg (148.21 KiB) Viewed 10281 times

sPanel#2.jpg
sPanel#2.jpg (128.81 KiB) Viewed 10281 times

I am planning to get precut 2.5" structural insulated panels (SIPs) from a supplier. SIPS will make up the side panels, roof, front panel, and back panel separating the cabin from galley. In the Sketchup images, the green, red, blue, and gray panel on the front will be made from SIPs. The floor and galley door will be plywood. The SIPs are 7/16 OSB sandwiched around 1.5 inch foam. I will attach each panel to the utility trailer and themselves using 2x2s w/glue and screws. My reasons for getting SIPs is due to their strength, insulation, ease of assembly, etc.

My main question is whether this stucture should be sturdy enough for road use? (without any extra framing besides the attachment points w/ 2x2s) Also I've seen people saying OSBs are very susceptive to water damage - If I coat the OSB with "the mix" per GPW and then skin w/ aluminum, will it be good to go? I will seal all the joints of course, maybe with silicone caulk.

For the record, if you were wondering about the curved front.. it will be covered in marine vinyl or topgun fabric, insulated with flexible closed-cell duct insulation foam. I will insulate the floor of the cabin with XPS foam.

Thanks for any advice or thoughts.

Cheers :beer:

-Jackson
JacksonCBall
Teardrop Inspector

Re: Camper made from SIPs - advice?