Featherdrop - An Over-Engineered Teardrop

Member designs created in Sketchup or other cad program

Featherdrop - An Over-Engineered Teardrop

Postby timm » Fri Nov 30, 2018 12:13 am

Hey guys, so I've been through several iterations of trailers and this is what I've settled on. I'm calling it the "Featherdrop" trailer as it's going to be very light (estimating around 600 lbs. all up). I'm a mechanical engineering student in university right now, so I've been applying my limited engineering knowledge as much as possible.

It's been designed with a couple design parameters in mind:

Aerodynamic
  • Rounded corners everywhere
  • Tapered Rear
  • Air Splitter between TV and trailer
  • Wheel Fairings
  • Extendable top to minimize size when towing and maximize size when parked

Light
  • Getting a custom trailer frame fabricated to cut undesirable weight and unnecessary strength
  • Using foam to construct non-load bearing components (air splitter, rounded corners)
  • Using construction techniques similar to old-fashioned airplanes
    • Using a CNC to lighten plywood sheets by cutting pieces out. (~100 lbs. saved)
    • Covering wood panels with canvas and exterior paint then assembling panels.

Easily Buildable
  • Delegate as much cutting as possible to the CNC
  • Use as many right angles as possible
  • Light panels that are easy to handle
  • Very simple window design

With that out of the way, here are some pictures of the design.

Side Profile

Front. The trailer doesn't stick out past the car very much. The wheels might be slightly closer to the trailer depending on the axle I get.

Rear. The tail lights may change yet, these are placeholders.

This is how the rounded corners will be created, the white pieces are plywood pieces and the red is foam.

The foam can simply be cut into a rectangle and glued into place. I'll be 3D printing a curved sanding drum and sanding the corners into the correct shape.